OpenSpades introduction

OpenSpades is an open source OpenGL-based alternative game client by yvt that can be used to play on all AoS 0.75 and AoS 0.76 servers listed on BuildAndShoot.com. It's compatible with PySnip/pyspades and runs on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: GreaseMonkey » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:25 am

Thresh wrote:
CommieBuffalo wrote:Image
Is this bad? :c


that's my situation, and it means that your intel chipset is shit (like me)

yvt, any hope of support for opengl 1.4?
or no way in hell?


"i need a graphics accelerator what the fuck is this shit fuck you it's your fault my old piece of shit can't run this game"

Iceball has support for OpenGL 1.1, but that GPU would run it quite badly. I don't see OpenSpades being much better even if support for OpenGL 1.1 was added.
So, uhh, get a computer with a better GPU.

Daniel_Laixer wrote:Ok, now going serious.

Getting this new version to work on Ubuntu has been a pain in the ass. I haven't managed to install it yet, but I'm able to run it from the compiled dir and the game actually works fine.

But when I do "sudo make install" I get the following message:

Code: Select all
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.

It's just frustating. WTF is going on?


Simple. You run it from the compiled dir.
Don't bother with installing it, as accessing the right resources will be tricky.
Admins, please delete this account. I'm sick of this bullshit. Thanks. --GM
User avatar
GreaseMonkey
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:07 pm
Location: MOV ax,00h \ MOV bx,13h \ INT 10h

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Islanzi » Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:28 am

Awesome stuff, Open spades looks amazing. This and IceBall are spectacular, amazing works. You guys keep up this awesome work.
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Islanzi
Deuce
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:42 am

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: liljoe1997 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:46 am

Update!
0.0.8 is finally out but I have one problem that pisses me off a lot...
My game keeps on crashing RIGHT when it is almost done loading! Blue_Rifle Green_Rifle
I checked My System Report to see if my specs are good...

Here is My System Report:

OpenGL Renderer:
GeForce GT 640M LE/PCIe/SSE2

OpenGL Version:
4.3.0

GLSL Version:
4.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler

OpenGL Extensions:
Your video card supports all required OpenGL extensions/features.

GL_ARB_multitexture is supported
GL_ARB_shader_objects is supported
GL_ARB_shading_language_100 is supported
GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two is supported
GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object is supported
GL_EXT_framebuffer_object is supported



Other Extensions:
GL_ARB_framebuffer_sRGB is supported
GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit is supported
GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic is supported


Miscellaneous:
Max Texture Size: 16384
Max 3D Texture Size: 2048
Max Combined Texture Image Units: 192
Max Vertex Texture Image Units: 32

Seriously, I can play the other OpenSpades Versions on Maxed out settings at 60FPS with no problem excluding the random disconnects, random death freezes and bad hit detection no matter what settings I try out.

When my game crashes... my only way out of the loading screen is to click my mouse, right when I click my mouse...
Both, The System Log and The Game Launcher close down at the SAME TIME, and I cannot find a way to get the error messages, lastly...
All I get is a Pop up that says "OpenSpades.exe client has stopped working"

Yeah "OpenSpades.exe client has stopped working" RIGHT WHEN IT IS ALMOST DONE LOADING Blue_Rifle Green_Rifle
Sorry for this is very frustrating for me... I have a machine that have a good enough GPU to run on Max but the problem is, that it crashes near the end of loading the game.... I can make it to the loading screen until it is almost done loading then that's it... so much for enjoying OpenSpades with a new update (sigh)

Okay wanna know what methods I tried in order to get me into at least one server yet fail at the same time?
Here they are:

First:I tried selecting a server from the Server list in the client...
It can load the game then it crashes right when it is almost done...

Second: I tried the Old Fashioned "copy & paste" IP trick...
all I get was "Invalid cg_protocolVersion, should be 3 or 4".
Note: I used "Copy Link Location" so I don't get any missing numbers and such...

*Update* Thanks to learn_more for providing me this method (found in Note2) to try out.
Spoiler:
still didn't work though

Note2: I changed the cg_protocolVersion in the advanced settings.
First I used 4 then I got a message saying "Protocol Version Not Compatible "or something like that...
Next I then used 3, I get the same Freeze up Error (Same problem as First Method)

Third: I Tried using Alt+Tab, Didn't work

Fourth: I tried Windowed mode aaaand... when it freezes it shows "OpenSpades.exe client has stopped working" even the log freezes up, and like I said, as soon as I click, bye bye windows of the main program being ran.

Sorry for this Rage-like post... This issue for me, is driving me nuts!
I'm NOT saying Screw this game, I just wanna see if others have this problem as well...
Whoever is in charge of the development of this...
Keep up the good work and please fix this problem if other users have it as well.
Last edited by liljoe1997 on Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:29 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
liljoe1997
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:44 am
Location: Philippines but is born in The USA :P

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: learn_more » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:08 am

liljoe1997 wrote:Second: I tried the Old Fashioned "copy & paste" IP trick...
all I get was "Invalid cg_protocolVersion, should be 3 or 4".
Note: I used "Copy Link Location" so I don't get any missing numbers and such...


how about, open advanced settings and correct the protocol version?
User avatar
learn_more
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: liljoe1997 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:17 am

learn_more wrote:
liljoe1997 wrote:Second: I tried the Old Fashioned "copy & paste" IP trick...
all I get was "Invalid cg_protocolVersion, should be 3 or 4".
Note: I used "Copy Link Location" so I don't get any missing numbers and such...


how about, open advanced settings and correct the protocol version?


I tried it aaand I got the same Freeze up error Blue_NotHappy Green_Nothappy
User avatar
liljoe1997
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:44 am
Location: Philippines but is born in The USA :P

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Daniel_Laixer » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:41 am

GreaseMonkey wrote:Simple. You run it from the compiled dir.
Don't bother with installing it, as accessing the right resources will be tricky.

Call me stubborn, but I think not installing the compiled source is a half done job.
Possibly it's a simple problem...

If I run "cmake -P cmake_install.cmake" I get something like

Code: Select all
Install configuration:""

And nothing else, just that single line. I've been googling for a solution and I haven't found something yet.

Maybe I have to specify an aditional variable, like CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX. My knowledge about compiling is quite limited, and even more when I never used cmake before, so I don't know what else to do.

By the way, has anyone else tried to compiled this on a GNU/Linux distro or am I the only one?
Running OpenSpades on Ubuntu 12.04
Image
User avatar
Daniel_Laixer
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: learn_more » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:49 am

Daniel_Laixer wrote:
GreaseMonkey wrote:Simple. You run it from the compiled dir.
Don't bother with installing it, as accessing the right resources will be tricky.

Call me stubborn, but I think not installing the compiled source is a half done job.
Possibly it's a simple problem...

If I run "cmake -P cmake_install.cmake" I get something like

Code: Select all
Install configuration:""

And nothing else, just that single line. I've been googling for a solution and I haven't found something yet.

Maybe I have to specify an aditional variable, like CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX. My knowledge about compiling is quite limited, and even more when I never used cmake before, so I don't know what else to do.

By the way, has anyone else tried to compiled this on a GNU/Linux distro or am I the only one?


i built it on ubuntu x64, worked just fine and dandy...

although i dont think i did the make install (i don't think it is present anymore)
User avatar
learn_more
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Skynet » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:28 am

I'm having the same problem as liljoe1997
Image
Skynet < v^3
User avatar
Skynet
Modder
Modder
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:37 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Daniel_Laixer » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:58 am

learn_more wrote:i built it on ubuntu x64, worked just fine and dandy...

although i dont think i did the make install (i don't think it is present anymore)


Running the OpenSpades exectuable after compliling it worked for me too. Actually I did it just as a test, I didn't expect it to work because it wasn't installed, but it did.

Making a .deb package with checkinstall was one of the reasons I wanted to install it.
Running OpenSpades on Ubuntu 12.04
Image
User avatar
Daniel_Laixer
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: learn_more » Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:42 pm

Daniel_Laixer wrote:
learn_more wrote:i built it on ubuntu x64, worked just fine and dandy...

although i dont think i did the make install (i don't think it is present anymore)


Running the OpenSpades exectuable after compliling it worked for me too. Actually I did it just as a test, I didn't expect it to work because it wasn't installed, but it did.

Making a .deb package with checkinstall was one of the reasons I wanted to install it.

i have no clue about how all that works,
if you feel it's needed feel free to make a ticket at github
and please include as much info as possible, the author is a mac user, and im a windows user so yeah ;)
User avatar
learn_more
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Sonarpulse » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:23 pm

cmake will generate deb? Oo this could really help us extend the fanbase.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Sonarpulse
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 7:18 pm

OpenSpades 0.0.8b

PostAuthor: yvt » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:32 pm

OpenSpades 0.0.8 had serious bugs -- Please update!

OpenSpades 0.0.8b github page: https://github.com/yvt/openspades/releases/tag/v0.0.8b

Fixed some serious bugs
  • Global Illumination crashed on Windows (the root cause is still unknown)
  • cg_protocolVersion defaulted to empty value, which resulted in a connection failure. Now it defaults to 3.
  • Turned a compiler optimization option on.
Web Site: http://yvt.jp, Development Blog: http://yvt-develop.tumblr.com
User avatar
yvt
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:57 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Sonarpulse » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:43 pm

Yo, I'm getting some error about not having cURL. Is this cURL the executable or cURL the library that I need? Because I definitely have the executable.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Sonarpulse
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 7:18 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: yvt » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:49 pm

Sonarpulse wrote:Yo, I'm getting some error about not having cURL. Is this cURL the executable or cURL the library that I need? Because I definitely have the executable.


You need a cURL library and headers (on Debian the package name looks like libcurl3-openssl-dev).
Web Site: http://yvt.jp, Development Blog: http://yvt-develop.tumblr.com
User avatar
yvt
Coder
Coder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:57 pm

Re: OpenSpades

PostAuthor: Daniel_Laixer » Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:28 pm

Sonarpulse wrote:cmake will generate deb? Oo this could really help us extend the fanbase.

Before cmake was required to compile OpenSpades I managed to make a working .deb package

To make a .deb package with checkinstall you have to run the command "sudo checkinstall" instead of "sudo make install". I don't know much about compiling or programming, but I think I can make the package even if the source has been compiled with cmake.

Now that yvt has released OS 0.0.8b I will give it another try when I get home.
Running OpenSpades on Ubuntu 12.04
Image
User avatar
Daniel_Laixer
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm

PreviousNext

Return to OpenSpades

Who is online

Registered users: [AAT]JTS320, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], michaelhav, Oppy, ReubenMcHawk